Religion - Barking and District Historical Society

Barking and District Historical Society
Go to content

Main menu:

Religion

Articles > L-R > People > A-D > Henry Ashmole
Religion

The foolscap sized scribbling diary gives a week to a page and does not include a space for Sundays. Henry started to use about half the space allocated for Saturday to include Sundays from 14th February 1864.

Wednesday 10th February 1864; "Ash Wednesday or 1st day of Lent"

Sunday 14th February 1864; "Chapel in the evening"

Friday 19th February 1864; "Service at Chapel in the Evening & Morning also. I did not attend either"

Sunday 28th February 1864; "Little Ilford Church opened, after being repaired &c"

Friday 4th March 1864; "Had an excellent sermon from the Revd Proctor at the Chapel of Ease in the evening"

Saturday 5th March 1864; "…went to Chapel on Sunday evening"

Friday 11th March 1864; "Went to Chapel in the Evening"

Friday 18th March 1864; "Went to Chapel in the Evening"

Monday 21st March 1864; "Passion Week. Service at Chapel in the morning"

Wednesday 23rd March 1864; "No service at all this day"

Friday 25th March 1864; "Good Friday; went to Chapel in the morning & Mrs. Brands Funeral in the afternoon & Chapel in the evening"

Sunday 27th March 1864 (87-279); "Took the Sacrament at St. Mary’s Gt. Ilford in the morning & went to Chapel in the evening. Easter Sunday"

Sunday 10th April 1864; "Went to Ilford Church in the morning; dined at the ‘Angel’ & took tea at home, & went to Chapel in the evening…Miss M…very pretty"

Sunday 23rd April 1864; "We went to Ilford Church in the morning & Chapel in the evening"

Sunday 1st May 1864; "I went to Church in the morning & funeral in the afternoon & Chapel in the evening"

Sunday 8th May 1864; "Went to Church in the morning, Cemetery in the afternoon & Chapel in the Evening. NB A collection in the morning for the Barking Church Union"

Saturday 14th May 1864; "…in the evening Westminster Abbey & St. Barnabas next morning; & Mr. Bellew’s & St. Giles in the Fields in the evening"

Saturday 21st May 1864; "I went to Ilford Church in the morning & Barking Church in the Evening"

Sunday 29th May 1864; "Went to Ilford Church in the morning & Chapel in the Evening"

Sunday 5th June 1864; "Went to Ilford Church in the morning & Barking Church in the evening"

Sunday 12th June 1864; "Went to Church in the morning & Chapel in the Evening & went for a walk on the Mound at Uphall after evening service"

Sunday 19th June 1864; "I went to Church in the morning & staid to Sacrament & Chapel in the evening"

Sunday 26th June 1864; "Went ot Church in the morning & nowhere in the evening as my eyes were bad"

Sunday 3rd July 1864; "Went to Ilford Church in the morning & Barking Church in the evening"

Sunday 10th July 1864; "Went to Ilford Church in the morning; & Barking in the evening"

Sunday 17th July 1864; "Went to Ilford Church in the morning’ & Chapel in the Evening"

Sunday 24th July 1864; "Went to Ilford Church in the morning…& went to hear a Charity Sermon preached by Mr. Liddell for National & Infant Schools in the Evening at Barking.  Not much of a Sermon HA"

Sunday 31st July 1864; "Went to Ilford Church in the morning…& Maria, Kate, Harry, Miss Mackey, Jenny, Bessy, Father & Aunt Bessy & self all took Barking Church by storm; I have no doubt quite brightened old Mr. Moore. Self, Maria & Kate stayed to the singing after the service & had a very nice walk home"

Sunday 7th August 1864; "Went to Ilford Church in the morning & Barking Do in the evening"

Sunday 14th August 1864; "Frank Gattey spent today here & went to Church with me in the morning & Chapel in the evening"

Sunday 21st August 1864; "Went to Plaxtol Church with John, the two Girls & Miss Hankins"

Sunday 28th August 1864; "Went to Ilford Church in the morning & Chapel in the evening"

Sunday 4th September 1864; "Went to Ilford Church in the morning & Chapel in the evening"

Sunday 11th September 1864; "Went to Ilford Church in the morning & Barking ‘Kirk’ in the evening…I forgot to mention above that the new clergyman (the Welshman) preached this evening & I heard him 1st time. The Welshman preached his farewell sermon HA"

Sunday 18th September 1864; "We all went to Ilford Church in the morning, took a walk to the cemetery in the afternoon, & some went to Barking Church & some to this Chapel in the Evening"

Sunday 25th September 1864; "Went to Ilford Church in the morning; to see the large tusk in the Brickfields in the afternoon; & Chapel in the evening; the two Miss Willett’s were there & Miss Mackey whom I had the pleasure of escorting home"

Sunday 2nd October 1864; "Went to Mr. Bellew’s Chapel in the morning with Aunt Mary"

Sunday 9th October 1864; "Went to Barking Church in the Evening & Ilford in the morning. There were about 8 or 10 of us went in the evening"

Sunday 16th October 1864; "Went to Ilford Church in the morning took the Sacrament there; & a walk over ‘Butt fields’ in afternoon & to Chapel in the evening & A. Willett & I went to meet them coming from Barking Church & I walked home with her afterwards"

Tuesday 18th October 1864; "…St. Luke’s Day. Went to Chapel in the Evening, it was crowded; thanksgiving for a bountiful Harvest. There were Choristers, 4 Parsons, intoning, Chapel decorated, candles burning, quotations from Scripture stuck about in various parts, but the best part of all Mr. Proctor gave us a very nice discourse"

Sunday 23rd October 1864; "Every appearance of rain in the morning prevented a great number from attending Divine Service…Went to Ilford Church in the morning…I went to Chapel in evening & saw Miss Burmester home, had a chat with Miss M. Miss Perry & brother went to Barking Church in the Evening"

Sunday 30th October 1864; "Went to G. Ilford Church in the morning saw R. Low there…I went to Chapel in the evening & for a little walk afterwards with Miss M. I then went to meet them coming from Barking Church…"

Sunday 6th November 1864; "Went to Ilford Church in the morning; Father better; a walk around the Cemetery in the afternoon & to Barking Church in the Evening (8 of us went) including G.J. Gadson…"

Sunday 13th November 1864; "Went to Ilford Church in the morning; (they are progressing rapidly with the tower) & Chapel in the evening; a lot of ‘dafts’ went to Barking Church & got caught in the rain"

Sunday 20th November 1864; "I provided things for 4 Funeral at Ilford Church. Went there in the morning…Father went to Church in morning & Chapel in the evening. We all went to Barking Church…"

Sunday 27th November 1864; "Went to Ilford Church in the morning…went for a stroll in the afternoon & Barking Church in the Evening: Six of us viz: Self H.W.A, Jenny & Bessy:  Anne Willett & M.A. Oldaker; went; Met G.J.G on our road home"

Sunday 4th December 1864; "Went to Ilford Church in the morning, they have got the brickwork of new tower just out of Ground…eight of us went to Barking Church in the evening"

Sunday 11th December 1864; "Went to Ilford Church in the morning…& Chapel in the evening, but a lot of them went to Barking; I went to meet them coming therefrom"

Sunday 18th December 1864; "A very snowy day a sharp frost in the night. Father & I went to Church in the morning & Chapel in the evening…H.W.A. & I walked to Aunt Jane's & had tea there, & from thence to the Chapel"

Sunday 25th December 1864: "Xmas Day. Spent a quiet day at home went to Church in the morning & Chapel in the evening…Father & Bessy went too Barking Church in the evening.  The Church & Chapel are both nicely decorated"

Sunday 1st January 1865; "It snowed in the morning…went to Ilford Church in the morning…8 of us went to Barking Church"

Back to content | Back to main menu